Main Menu

In Brief — July 19, 2004 {0114}

In Brief — July 19, 2004 {0114}

e-Review Florida United Methodist News Service

In Brief

July 19, 2004    News media contact:  Michael Wacht*    
407-897-1140     Orlando  {0114}

NOTE:  Information for this article was taken from United Methodist News Service reports.
An e-Review News Item
By Tita Parham** 

Wills receives first assignment as bishop

ORLANDO — The Rev. Dick Wills, newly elected bishop of the United Methodist Church and pastor in the Florida Conference, will assume his role as bishop of the Nashville Area, which includes the Memphis and Tennessee conferences, Sept 1.

Wills was the fifth of six bishops elected during the Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference July 14-17. He was elected on the 11th ballot and received 339 votes.

The six elected bishops fill vacancies left by bishops retiring. Their assignments were announced July 17.

Wills is senior pastor of Christ Church United Methodist in Ft. Lauderdale, where he has served for 18 years. The Rev. Debbie McLeod, superintendent of the Broward Palm Beach District, said no successor has yet been selected for Wills.

Bishop Timothy W. Whitaker was assigned to the Florida Area, which includes the Florida Conference, for another term.  

The assignments for the Southeastern Jurisdiction’s 10 other bishops are: Bishop G. Lindsey Davis, North Georgia Area (North Georgia Conference); Bishop Larry M. Goodpaster, Alabama-West Florida Area (Alabama and West Florida conferences); Bishop Alfred Gwinn, Raleigh Area (North Carolina Conference); Bishop Charlene Kammerer, Richmond Area (Virginia Conference); Bishop James R. King Jr., Louisville Area (Kentucky and Red Bird Missionary conferences); Bishop J. Lawrence McCleskey, Charlotte Area (Western North Carolina Conference); Bishop James Swanson, Holston Area (Holston Conference); Bishop Mary Virginia Taylor, Columbia Area (South Carolina Conference); Bishop Hope Morgan Ward, Mississippi Area (Mississippi Conference); Bishop B. Michael Watson, South Georgia Area (South Georgia Conference); and Bishop William H. Willimon, Birmingham Area (North Alabama Conference).

The six retiring bishops are Bishop Kenneth L. Carder, Bishop Ray W. Chamberlain Jr., Bishop Marion M. Edwards, Bishop Robert E. Fannin, Bishop William Morris and Bishop Joe E. Pennel Jr.


This news item relates to the Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference and the Episcopacy.

*Wacht is director of Florida United Methodist Communications and managing editor
of e-Review Florida United Methodist News Service.
** Parham is editor of the e-Review Florida United Methodist News Service.