District Committee on Ordained Ministry (DCOM)

If you are a member of a district committee on ordained ministry, thank you for the careful work you are doing with candidates for ministry.  You know that this is an important process of hearing candidate express their understanding of their call to ministry.  

DCOM Responsibilities

DCOM Training Videos

Contact information and meeting dates for each DCOM in the Florida Conference:

Atlantic Central District

District Superintendent:  Rev. Dionne Hammond (772) 299-0255  ds-ac@flumc.org

DCOM Chair:  Rev. Jeremy Rebman  jrebman@verobeachfumc.org

DCOM Vice Chair:  Rev. Corky Calhoun Corky@georgianna.org

DCOM Registrar:  Elizabeth Flynn  eflynn@flumc.org

DCOM Meeting Location: First UMC, Vero Beach

2020 Dates

Meeting

Due Date

Purpose

Location

Monday, February 3

Jan 6

LPRs

First UMC Vero Beach

Monday, April 6

Mar 4

Provisional Interviews

First UMC Vero Beach

Monday, August 10

July 20

Provisional Follow-ups

First UMC Vero Beach

Monday, Nov 30

Nov 2

 

First UMC Vero Beach

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

East Central District

District Superintendent:  Rev. Dr. Bob Bushong  (407) 636-9240  DS-EC@flumc.org

DCOM Chair:  Rev. Chris Jones cjones@communityoffaith.org

DCOM Vice Chair: Rev. Jennifer Stiles Williams  jstileswilliams@st.lukes.org

DCOM Registrar:  Elizabeth Flynn eflynn@flumc.org

DCOM Meeting Location: Asbury UMC, Maitland or First UMC, Oviedo (December only)

Remaining 2019 dCOM meetings

DCOM Meeting Location: First UMC, Oviedo

  • Thurs, Dec 19 (materials due Nov 21)

2020 Dates

Meeting

Due Date

Purpose

Location

Thursday, Mar 19

Feb 20

LPRs

Asbury UMC, Maitland

Thursday, April 23

March 23

Provisional Interviews/Certification

Asbury UMC, Maitland

Thursday, Aug 20

July 23

Provisional Follow-ups

Asbury UMC, Maitland

Thursday, Sept 17

Aug 20

Local Pastor/Recert

Asbury UMC, Maitland

Thursday, Oct 15

Sept 17

Local Pastor/Recert

Asbury UMC, Maitland

Wednesday, Dec 16*

Nov 19

Certifications/Recerts

Asbury UMC, Maitland

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gulf Central District

District Superintendent: Rev. Candace Lewis (727) 585-1207  ds-gc@flumc.org

DCOM Chair: Rev. Emily Hotho  emily@skycrest.net

DCOM Vice Chair: Rev. Tim Machtel  tim.machtel@saumc.net

DCOM Registrar: Elizabeth Flynn  eflynn@flumc.org

DCOM Meeting Location: The Portico, Tampa

Remaining 2019 dCOM meetings

  • Tues, Dec 17 (materials due Nov 19)

2020 Dates

Meeting

Due Date

Purpose

Location

Thursday, Jan 30

Jan 2

LPRs

The Portico

Thursday, March 12

Feb 13

 

The Portico

Thursday, April 30*

Apr 2

Provisional Interviews

The Portico

Thursday, Aug 27

July 30

Provisional Follow-ups

The Portico

Thursday, Dec 17

Nov 19

Certifications/Recerts

The Portico

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

North Central District

District Superintendent:  Rev. June Edwards (352) 789-6981  ds-nc@flumc.org

DCOM Chair:  Rev. Beth Farabee  beth@fumcgnv.org

DCOM Registrar:  Elizabeth Flynn eflynn@flumc.org

DCOM Meeting Location: NC District Office, First UMC, Ocala

Remaining 2019 dCOM meetings

  • Thurs, Dec 12 (materials due Nov 14)

2020 Dates

Meeting

Due Date

Purpose

Location

Thursday, February 27

Jan 30

LPRs

First UMC, Ocala

Tuesday, April 21

Mar 24

Provisional Interviews

First UMC, Ocala

Tuesday, August 25

July 28

Provisional Follow-ups

First UMC, Ocala

Thursday, December 3

Nov 5

 

First UMC, Ocala

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

North East District

District Superintendent:  Rev. Jay Therrell   (904) 396-3026    ds-ne@flumc.org

DCOM Chair:  Rev. Greg Doss  grdoss@gmail.com

DCOM Registrar: Elizabeth Flynn eflynn@flumc.org

DCOM Meeting Location: Mandarin UMC, Jacksonville

Remaining 2019 dCOM meetings

  • Wed, Dec 11 (materials due Nov 13)

2020 Dates

Meeting

Due Date

Purpose

Location

Wednesday, February 12

January 15

LPRs

Mandarin UMC, Jacksonville

Wednesday, May 13

April 15

Provisional Interviews

Mandarin UMC, Jacksonville

Wednesday, August 12

July 15

Provisional Follow-ups

Mandarin UMC, Jacksonville

Wednesday, December 9

Nov 11

 

Mandarin UMC, Jacksonville

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

North West District

District Superintendent:  Rev. Durwood Foshee   (850) 386-2154   ds-nw@flumc.org

DCOM Chair:  Rev. Dr. Kandace Brooks  kandace@saintpaulsumc.org

DCOM Registrar:  Elizabeth Flynn  eflynn@flumc.org​

DCOM Meeting Location: St. Paul's UMC, Tallahassee

Remaining 2019 dCOM meetings

  • Tues, Dec 16 (materials due Nov 12)

2020 Dates

Meeting Due Date Purpose Location

Monday, Mar 30

Feb 24

LPRs

Wesley Memorial, Lake City

Tuesday, Mar 31

Feb 24

LPRs

St. Paul's UMC

Tuesday, May 12

Apr 14

Provisional Interviews

St. Paul's UMC

Tuesday, Aug 11

July 14

Provisional Follow-ups

St. Paul's UMC

Tuesday, Dec 8

Nov 10

Recertifications

St. Paul's UMC

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

South East District

District Superintendent:  Rev. Cynthia Weems  (305) 445-9136  DS-SE@flumc.org

DCOM Chair:  Rev. David Range miramarpastor@gmail.com 

DCOM Registrar: Elizabeth Flynn eflynn@flumc.org

DCOM Meeting Location: Plantation UMC

2020 Dates

Meeting

Due Date

Purpose

Location

Tuesday, March 3

Feb 4

LPRs

Plantation UMC

Tuesday, April 28

March 31

Provisional Interviews

Plantation UMC

Tuesday, August 18

July 28

Provisional Follow-ups

Plantation UMC

Tuesday, October 13

Sept 15

Recerts/LPs

Plantation UMC

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

South West District

District Superintendent:  Rev. Dan Jackson (941) 371-6511  ds-sw@flumc.org

DCOM Chair:  Rev. Vic Willis  vbradyw@gmail.com

DCOM Registrar: Elizabeth Flynn  eflynn@flumc.org

2020 Dates

Meeting Due Date Purpose Location

Thursday, Jan 9

Dec 12

LPRs

Englewood UMC

Thursday, Mar 26

Feb 27

Certs/Recerts

Englewood UMC

Thursday, April 23

Mar 26

Provisional Interviews

Englewood UMC

Thursday, Sept 3

Aug 6

Provisional Follow-ups

Englewood UMC

Contact Us

The Florida Conference of The United Methodist Church

450 Martin L King Jr Ave
Lakeland, FL 33815

(863) 688-5563 or toll free (800) 282-8011