Conference Board of Ordained Ministry (BOM)

The Conference Board of Ordained Ministry is composed of clergy (elders, deacons, associate members, local pastors) and laity from across the Florida Conference.  The Board serves as the final recommending body in the conference as a person applies for licensing or ordination.  Nearly sixty people serve on this board, giving much of their time and energy to the process of credentialing people for ministry within the Florida Conference of The United Methodist Church. In addition, there is a district committee on ordained ministry in each district who is responsible for recertifying candidates for provisional membership to the BOM and for licensing as a Local Pastor.

The General Board of Higher Education and Ministry has a handbook for members of boards of ordained ministry.  Each member of the Florida Conference Board of Ordained Ministry may obtain a copy at this site -


The Officers of the Board 

Chairperson:  Brett Opalinski
                   (954) 771-7300                      

Vice-Chairperson:   David Miller
                   (407) 644-2906                                            

 Chairperson:  Order of Deacons:  Monique McBride
                    (954) 463-3758                            

Chairperson:  Order of Elders:  Dionne Hammond
                    (321) 723-6761            

Chairperson:  Fellowship of Associate Members and Local Pastors:    Will Clark
                    (904) 221-1700              

Secretary:  Christy Holden
                    (727) 215-6760

Registrar:  Sara McKinley
                    (863) 688-5563, ext. 133                                           

Cabinet Liaison: Bob Bushong       

                      (407) 896-2230


For the BOOM Handbook for 2012-2016 click here.

BOM Responsibilities and Functions

Contact Us

The Florida Conference of The United Methodist Church

450 Martin L King Jr Ave
Lakeland, FL 33815

(863) 688-5563 or toll free (800) 282-8011